That’s me finished the first draft of this serial killer novel. It’s been a blast, but I’m glad to see the back of it, if I’m a hundred percent honest. Five, six weeks inside the imaginary skulls of some pretty damn sick little monkeys, was more than enough.

I’m aware it needs a fair bit of work (in the pool a couple of hours ago, I thought of an attribute for one of my central characters) but that’s for next year at the earliest.

Once I’ve nailed this puppy to the floor, I’m going back to work on October’s novel.

I’m also brushing up on characterization for my revision. I don’t think it’s possible to know too much about the core of writing – plot, setting and character. And, in this case, several important characters have broken free of their moorings and are drifting dangerously.

I’m also casting about for a new way to approach November’s NaNo. That special something that’ll make forcing out another fifty thousand word anal boulder new, fresh and vital.

In other news, the Bitter Together lot have really excelled themselves with their latest advert. Pitched, one assumes, at women too stupid to be as racist and bigoted as last week’s ‘ordeniry wommens’. Or maybe in their vision of Scotland-yet-to-come, all our women are to have boob jobs and lobotomies – Stepford-style.

Across fife, there are loads of people walking around with ‘AYE’ badges, massive signs outside a few houses, flags with ‘YES’ printed on them. Occasionally, one sees a wee ‘naw’ sticker on a bus stop but that’s about it. Up by Loch Lomond and the Trossachs, however, there are loads of ‘naw’ signs. Practically every field has one. The rural posh probably don’t need to be told they’re shit-thick to want to hang on to all that wealth, power and privilege. And I hope to Christ there’s more of us than there is of them, come next month.

It just remains to be seen now whether enough people actually get off their arses to vote in next month’s referendum. Whoever wins, it’s going to be close. Hopefully, there’s enough depth of feeling to get enough people out there to make their ‘aye’ X and we can kiss Westminster and all its criminals goodbye.

And hopefully, in an independent Scotland, oil revenues will bring in enough hard cash to re-educate all the ‘ordeniry wommens’. Teach them how to discuss matters that are troubling them.

