I only got my hands on this LP last week and it really has blown me right out of the water.
I liked them from the first time I heard them, on Tom Ravenscroft’s show on radio six. (It was ‘Stumbling 42nd street, from the ‘Escape’ EP, anal retentives).
It’s a wonderful xx minutes, putting me in mind of the Jesus and Mary Chain crossed with (early) Chrome. Vocally, he sounds a lot like a young Damon Edge, both in accent and delivery (mibby it’s a San Francisco thing!)
It’s one of these albums that, on discovering it, I’m just letting it wash over me, listening to it on the way to-and-from work; on the occasions I need an injection of joy to make the day survivable. One of those LPs that appear when the weather’s like this and the nights are long and warm. In that sense, I’d probably bracket it with Primal Scream’s ‘Screamadelica’ or Nirvana’s ‘Nevermind’.

