Wow, that’s another one done. ‘Person-hair’ is finished (well, the first draft is!) and I’m having a well-deserved breather. And, by ‘well-deserved breather’, I mean heading into work for what’ll no doubt be a really heavy week.
It’s always a bit of an anti-climax, finishing a novel. I’ve been living and breathing the alternate edinburgh, racism and equal marriage for the last month. If I’m honest, it hasn’t really sunk in that the bastard’s finished.
For the last month, I’ve been getting up (almost) every morning, putting on either status quo or the ‘dredd’ soundtrack. On friday, over in ayrshire, I managed to find three mute drivers’ LPs I haven’t seen since I foolishly sold my copies back in 1994.
Nineteen years since I jettisoned all that vinyl and I’ve *almost* replaced the lot, either on CD or mp3.
So, I’ve been gorging my funny-looking self on the mute drivers since yesterday.
There’s a point in the writing of any novel where I start thinking about sequels. I reckon the process of getting so up-close-and-personal with my characters makes me want to cling to them.
And that’s where I am with ‘person-hair’. Although in a way, it’s a ‘sequel’ to ‘dreich NOiR’ as it’s set in the same universe.
I’m feeling like setting another work in that same universe would be a good thing.

now, why not read the novel that started it all? 1919 (inside)

https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/bunnied

Guaranteed – absolutely NO traces of horse DNA anywhere in this novel. And that’s the truth – or my name’s not David Cameron.

