I’ve started fleshing out the chapters, added a chase and a maid’s outfit (although not in the same scene) and I’ve also created dossiers on my mmc and his adversary.
If I can keep to two chapters – and two dossiers – per day I can get this nailed down next week.
Of course, real life has a habit of getting in the way. This next month or so is cluttered with kids ‘n’ grandkids birthdays, (the selfish little bastards!) So, there’s going to be days where I can’t fully focus.
Oh and I’ve started the dossier on one of my supporting characters.
Wow, I’m dredging up bits of people I’ve met, people I’ve only ever seen on tv. So far, she’s only in two scenes; I might even have to beef her part up a bit.
I don’t think, when we plan any piece of writing, we have any idea where it’s going to finish up. The tiniest characters put on weight, explode out of where I sat them in the text, throw up undreamed of facets, pull in slivers of people from real life and meld them into incredible personalities.
I’m gonny be spending the next couple of days on trains, so I should be able to get ahead with this.
I don’t feel like I’m in control at all. It’s like playing ‘lemmings’ – I can herd them, force one to do something that affects the others somehow, but lay down the law? Expect the chaotic little bastards to do my bidding? Nah.

now, why not read the novel that started it all? 1919 (inside)

https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/bunnied

Guaranteed – absolutely NO traces of horse DNA anywhere in this novel. And that’s the truth – or my name’s not David Cameron.

