#FollowFriday on twitter (or #FF). I don’t manage it every week, but when I do, I usually push the boat out and make of it something strange and beautiful. Yesterday afternoon, I based it on ‘the hunger games’ – and found two dozen people who hadn’t had the sense not to talk to me in the last seven-to-ten days or so.

So I introduced them as the tributes from the twelve districts, piled high the references to not only the hunger games themselves, but turned up the dada to eleven, assigning them ridiculous weapons (apple-corer, anyone?) And slipping in a few in-jokes, of the sort I normally do.

I’ve long enjoyed irrelevant comedy, from Roger Irrelevant in viz, back in the twentieth century, through Vic Reeves to Chris Morris.

The dada/gritty surrealism/new weird forum in NaNoWriMo is another hotbed of disconnected and jocular thought. We’re all probably linked by Carlton Mellick lll and very possibly China Mieville.

After that, everyone has their own preferences, the ‘real’ part of the ‘surrealism’.

When I was writing the erotic cleansing, back in the 1990s, what I wanted was to set the book in a universe where there was no causality whatsoever. A world where, quite literally, anything could happen – and at any moment.

That’s a thread that runs all the way to the idiots’ graveyard. A universe spinning out of control, where razor-sharp fragments of crazy could come out of nowhere and eat your face off

 

 Get the picture?

Why not check out the novel, “1919 (inside)” available from smashwords?

https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/bunnied

Doing for preposterous what Sir Paul Maccartney does for blackbird.

