A day off work! I’ve already, in less than three weeks, got used to these being a luxury.

Anyway, I slept in until nine this morning, got up and wired straight into ‘dystopian’. There’s still a slight worry that I ll run out of plot before I hit fifty thousand words, but I think I have it covered.

With this morning’s thirty-four hundred words, that’s me on about thirty-six thousand. Plus, I’ve thought of something I want to embed in the plot throughout which’ll add weight to the ending.

It’s strange, having to balance all that with ‘are there enough hours in the remainder of this month to complete this?’

I suppose there’s always something to worry about when writing a novel, the trick is, not to take these fears any more seriously than the process of hammering out the words through the keyboard and up the screen.

I’ve been listening a fair bit of the kilimanjaro darkjazz ensemble, particularly their 2006 self-titled lp. Over the last few weeks this lot have taken over from Miles Davis, who’s probably soundtracked more of my work than anyone else (yes, even throbbing gristle, even navicon torture technologies!)

