I got up this morning and hammered out three-and-a-half thousand words, taking my total up to just over thirty thousand.

This ‘dystopian’ novel is really taking shape! I have less than four more sections to go – say twenty to twenty-five thousand words and around twelve more days to complete it in. easy-peasy!

In November 2011, I did National Novel Writing Month for the first time. I’d done camp NaNoWriMo in July of that year, but this was the first novel I sat down and planned before writing.

It was a rollercoaster and despite being evicted from my home four thousand words from the end, finished it in my mate Adrienne’s bath before the month was up.

I’d had several of these characters ‘n’ questions in mind for a while; what does happen to a professional lookalike when the person they make a living from leeching off, dies suddenly. For instance, where are all the Jade Goody lookalikes now?

I’d written a treatment of this back in 1998, in a two-week hiatus between the end of one contract and the start of another.

There’s a group of violent lesbian separatists who came out, in the original draft, as a comedy element and I always thought I could do more with them, so now I have.

Also, the process of actually getting it down has led to a pile of ideas for two more novels about what happens once the snuff movie they’re making is completed.

