Awakened at 04:00 by the alarm in my phone, playing ‘Afterglow’. Up on autopilot and wrapping myself around a meaningful cup of tea. Ten minutes later, I’m in the keyboard zone.

Three days in and five thousand words down. If anything, the plot feels a wee bit jagged, but the characterisation – and the descriptive passages – are flooding out of me like garbage from a cokehead’s face.

One thing I try to do with everything I write is to stave off the boredom. If I thought about this as sitting down, performing the same actions over and over, it’d feel like writing the same thing over and over. AND ALL WORK AND NO PLAY MAKES JACK A DULL BOY. ALL WORK AND NO PLAY MAKES JACK A DULL BOY. ALL WORK AND NO PLAY MAKES JACK A DULL BOY.

I suppose I could always menace my family with an axe, but that’s not exactly ‘cutting edge’ nowadays, is it?

So, my strategy is to try to make each as different as possible to what I’ve done before.

New writing software? Bring it on! Some eighteenth century Japanese noblewoman’s characterisation techniques? Aye, I’ll gie that a wee shot.

So, ‘dystopian’ is the first time I’ve tried writing a draft back to front.

I’d turned the idea over in my head for a few days without deciding whether to do so or not. then, on August first, as I opened a new open office text document, I made up what’s left of my mind these days.

Feels funny, staring at a blank page, not thinking, “right. Where does this begin?” But instead, “right. They’ve had about twenty pages of adventures in outline. Where should this go?”

Oddly, I’m finding the descriptive passages coming more easily – but then, this is the honeymoon period.

Wait until I’m a week or ten days in and see how confident I feel then!

