I suppose I live quite a solitary life nowadays. I live in the middle of nowhere, I spend most days alone and most of my human companionship is on twitter.

I’m single and I share my life with no pets.

I run into my kids occasionally. Everyone else is dead or faraway.

I lived in cities from age five to forty-eight. I was born in a small town in South Wales and have spent the last three years in two small towns in central Scotland.

My first novel was written while I was in Liverpool and it took me eleven months. in the last twelve months, I’ve written four more first drafts. the last took just eighteen days.

I slept in until eight this morning, wrote another episode for dreich noir, before finishing my revision of the ‘dystopia’ draft.

It felt great, getting to the last page – especially since I’d added in an entire chapter around the middle and changed the order a wee bit, too.

After that, all I had to do was fold in the notes I’d taken on what each section should feel like.

After that, I cleaned up the flat a bit, which I’d been putting off for a day or two, preferring to take it out on my keyboard and talk to myself.

