I got up and wrote another thousand word episode of dreich noir. Although I had a slight sense a week or two back that it was starting to run out of steam, the ideas are piling up thick and fast as an upper-class cokehead.

I’ve added tags to dreich noir now, too. I don’t know why I never bothered before – probably because I was new to wordpress and it looked like more trouble than it was worth.

Having seen the amount of interest I get on this blog using tags, it seemed churlish not to experiment on dreich noir, so as of a couple of days ago, dreich noir has tags, too.

There’s a perverse part of me wondering about the innocent people who’ll stumble over it and decide Edinburgh’s a hotbed of people fucking soft toys and effigies of coal, cheese and stained glass.

Not, of course, that this isn’t the case. Eny fule kno Edinburgh’s a slow motion orgy, filled with people made of all kinds of materials. If Stuart Macbride can write about Aberdeen in terms of its hideous, anti-personnel weather and horrific, stomach-turning villainous deeds, I can certainly point out the avant shagging that typifies the rotting capital I grew up in!

I’ve also gone through the draft of dystopias, looking for more changes and additions I can make. It’s a filthy job, but somebody’s got to do it.

